Posts categorized “Music”

7 November 2013

The Jesus Rehab Are Going to Kick It at the Zoo at Night

The Brothers Cortese

The Brothers Cortese Have a Zoo For You…

It’s time! After many long years, The Jesus Rehab have finally recorded a new full-length album! They just need a li’l help to get it all prettified and released out into the wild. To that effect, they have started a new Kickstarter campaign for The Zoo At Night!

The Jesus Rehab are the best, un-ironic, unapologetic, rockin’ duo in Seattle right now. If you’re my friend then you’re probably already a fan, so kick a few bucks their way and let’s get another musical masterpiece out into the world, eh?

Categories: Music.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

5 November 2013

At Long Last: Madeleine Easton Releases Some Songs!

Madeleine Easton: Golden-Voiced Goddess

Madeleine Easton: Golden-Voiced Goddess

At long last, one of my favorite guitarist/singers sat down and recorded some of her songs and put them on Bandcamp to enjoy. Madeleine Easton is a gorgeous, golden-voiced goddess. I was first hooked when I heard her sing her rendition of “Kiss the Girl” from The Little Mermaid at her dining room table. She is amazing to see live, and I’m very excited that she has released these two cover songs:

She’s planning on releasing more songs soon, but for now Partake and Enjoy!

For more info:
Madeleine Easton’s facebook page

Categories: Music.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

4 November 2013

Julia Massey Releases a Surprise Album of Songs From the Nook!

Baby bliss is going great! Avery is a bundle of joy, etc. Remember to go for all the updates on her.

Anyway, there was a nice surprise at the beginning of this week: Julia Massey released an album! Surprise!

It’s a fascinating album: 30 songs, all of them under 94 seconds long, and all of them written & recorded in under 2 hours!

It’s called Songs From the Nook (which I assume refers to the nook in the house where it was recorded, not a Nook e-reader. It is available for download from Bandcamp right now!

It wasn’t a complete surprise, I must say. About a month ago Julia released a video on her YouTube channel. It was a strange, short, wordless little bit of happy:

So I knew that something was up. Plus there had been some enigmatic tweets like these:

Anyway, I love quirky projects like this. It’s like an album full of the musical equivalent of haiku poetry. I love short songs; you get one developed idea, get in, and get out before it outlives its welcome. They Might Be Giants reveled in the form with “Fingertips” (from Apollo 18), and short songs can be absolute masterpieces: “Spider” bt TMBG, “I Just Want My Pants Back” by The Crazy Boy Floyds, and “A Quiet Room” by Tangentbot are some of my all-time favorite songs. I wouldn’t be surprised if a gem or two from this album got added to my regular rotation!

Categories: Music.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

27 October 2013

Mix CD: November 2013

Mix CD: October 2013

I’m Missing a Bunch of Album Art!

Still no baby! Everything’s ready for her (including us), but no birth over the weekend. Instead, I made a couple of Mix CDs. Yes, actual, physical CDs. Yes, I still do that sometimes, though it has actually been a couple of years since I’ve done so. So because it’s been so long, I decided to make a double-disc. I also threw out my rule about trying to have only one repeat from previous discs (there are a lot of repeats on these).

For this set I just arranged my collection alphabetically by artist and started at the top. I tried not to use more than 2 songs for any given artist chosen. I got down to the “P” artists before I filled up two discs! I fudged the order a couple of times (Julia Massey shouldn’t be on the first disc, for example), but whatever.

So here are the track lists. Wherever possible I tried to link to somewhere where you could download the song, or at least to a place where you can listen to the song. I was actually able to find them all… except for the songs that I wrote myself…

Anyway, enjoy! There are some good stuffs on these:
Mix CD: October 2013
Disc 1

  1. Ducktails – Moon by The Advantage
  2. Black Velvet by Alannah Myles
  3. Paradise by Ana Laan
  4. Airbrushed by Anamanaguchi
  5. All the Same to Me by Anya Marina
  6. Title Screen Music from the Animal Crossing OST
  7. Around the Bend by The Asteroids Galaxy Tour
  8. Search for the Giant Squid by Ballzack
  9. Draw a Crowd by Ben Folds Five
  10. Stay the Same by Bonobo with Andreya Triana
  11. Avantcore by Busdriver
  12. The Story of the Earth, So Far by Julia Massey & the Five Finger Discount
  13. The Factory by The Crazy Boy Floyds
  14. Photograph by Def Leppard
  15. Mercy by Duffy
  16. Lazy Bones by Esquivel
  17. Take Me Out by Franz Ferdinand
  18. The Frug by Rilo Kiley
  19. Little Fighter X by Fighter X
  20. Skeleton by Jimes
  21. Queen of Wishful Thinking by Saucecore
  22. Me and My Brother by Ballzack
  23. Haunted House by The Crazy Boy Floyds

Disc 2

  1. Spin Around by Josie & The Pussycats
  2. Spaceships by Julia Massey & The Five Finger Discount
  3. Take It Like a Man by Kay Hanley
  4. LonLon Ranch by Koji Kondo
  5. Awake by Leeni
  6. Nice Weather for Ducks by Lemon Jelly
  7. Chemistry by Locust Street Taxi
  8. Just Another Day from the Lost Viking OST
  9. Bucky Done Gun by M.I.A.
  10. Good Morning Moon by Marian Call
  11. Over and Over by Leeni
  12. Crashman Stage from Mega Man 2 OST
  13. Don’t Worry ‘Bout Us by Julia Massey & The Five Finger Discount
  14. Daybreak by Michael Haggins
  15. No Myth by Michael Penn
  16. Lollipop by Mika
  17. Zanac – Area 2 by Miyamo Shant
  18. Taste the Bass by Mono Puff
  19. Dear Carbon Nanotubes by Locust Street Taxi
  20. Starry Eyed Surprise by Oakenfold
  21. Experimental Dream FLCL by Open Mike Eagle
  22. Things I Think About On Planes by Palmdale

Categories: Links, Music.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

23 October 2013

Marian Call: “Good Morning Moon” Official Video

My third post about Marian Call in one week! This’ll probably be my last one for a while. Unless she does something cool (and let’s be honest, there’s a pretty good chance of that). But after she performed in Tacoma last Friday, she went and released an official video for one of my favorite songs of hers!

The video was filmed at Space Expo, the European Space Agency’s visitor center (and Europe’s first permanent space exhibition) in the Netherlands. And NASA actually gave her a bunch of space footage and permission to use it in her video! How kick-ass is that?

Categories: Music, Videos.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

8 October 2013

Open Mike Eagle Changes His Password (So Should You)

Open Mike Eagle: Password (Sir Rockabye)

O.M.E.: Cyber Warrior!

My pal Open Mike Eagle released a new video for his single “Password (Stealthy Live Version)” off his latest LP, Sir Rockabye. It’s a virtual trip into a retro cyberspace. And it’s catchy as hell. Plus, there’s a funny cameo by Mega Ran as the host of a fictional video-playing TV show!

Now y’all get out there on the internets and change yer passwords, a’ight?

Categories: Music, Videos.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

3 October 2013

Get Pumped for Halloween with The Shaggs!

The Shaggs

The Shaggs

It’s the Third Day of Halloween!

Because it’s still early in the month of Halloween, you might not be quite as pumped-up as perhaps you shouldst be. So here to pump you all the frikkin’ way up is The Shaggs with their epic and timeless holiday song, “It’s Halloween!” It’s time for scares; it’s time for screams:

It’s Halloween! It’s Halloween!


Now I know you’re totally pumped for Halloween.

Categories: Holiday, Music, Videos.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...